Day 21: Region Files!

Today I learned how to make a region file. Using DS9, region files mark the pixels in the galaxy image that are not part of the galaxy, but would affect the calculation of the flux. I spent my morning going through the images in the W3 band, and putting circles around the regions that would negatively impact any calculations. I’ve found that this is actually enjoyable; it’s kind of relaxing to put circles around the pixels that don’t belong. This afternoon I spent some time working on my presentation outline, it was a bit of a rough start, but Katie really put me in the right direction, so tomorrow I will be able to finish it and have it checked by some of my advisors. I’m getting a little nervous now that it’s getting close to our presentation day, but outlining it now makes me feel more prepared, and just better in general.

Leave a Reply

