Day 17: Math!

Today was pretty spectacular. This morning I had to go through and get the ellipticity and angle of the aperture for 63 galaxies. These galaxies were ones that needed a little extra work in order to calculate their flux. After lunch, I had to go through and double check the data that was collected. First I needed to calculate the minor axis of the aperture. This was fun; Sravani gave me a formula to use, and then I broke it up into two parts in excel. I think Excel and I finally have an understanding; I can use it much more easily than I could at the beginning of the internship. Then I used that information to place an aperture around a random group of ten of the galaxies, just to make sure everything was being done correctly. Today was really productive, and I enjoyed myself. 

Leave a Reply

