Day 10: Raad

This morning my fellow interns and I voted to have raad be the word of the day, which is an electric catfish. Even though that was completely irrelevant, I just thought that that was a nice fun fact. Anyways, my morning was filled with meetings. First, I attended the science meeting, where a small group of people working on various science projects updated each other with what they were working on. Then immediately following that meeting, I went to the lama meeting. There were three people who presented everything that they have been working on in depth, and what I was able to understand was interesting, but that was not a whole lot. Lunch afterwards was fantastic; just like last friday, there was a grill and a volleyball net, so we had a mini picnic. It’s always fun to hang out with the other interns for a little while in the middle of the day, it’s a good break. After lunch I had the privilege of being the first intern guinea pig for Simran and Mia’s Visual Perception Lab. That was really cool because I got to see what they have been working on, but I can’t say too much about it as I have been sworn to secrecy, at least until they finish running the test on everyone. Then it was time for me to get back to work. Today I finished doing what I needed to do with the “good” galaxies on DS9, so I finally got to use the Aperture Photometry Tool. I must admit that the Aperture Photometry Tool is pretty cool to use, and it made me feel really professional, using such an official program. I think soon we’re going to vote on a t-sirt design for all of the interns, and honestly, if it has the CIS platypus on it, it has my vote. 🙂

Leave a Reply

