Day 9: Yesterday…Again

After today, I have decided that Excel and I are no longer friends. Yesterday, I had spent the entire day color coding my galaxies in an Excel document, which was in perfect shape this morning. However, when I had to add more data to the chart, it started being stubborn, and somehow in the process, I lost everything I had done yesterday. As a result, I spent my day today redoing what I lost from yesterday. It went considerably faster this time, but ideally, I wouldn’t have had to do that again…On the bright side, I think I might have better categorized them with a second look, and life goes on. When I finished going through them again, I began to use DS9 to start placing an aperture around the “good” galaxies. DS9 gives me the measurements of the ellipse, so that later, when I get to use the Aperture Photometry Tool, I already have those bits of information. I think I might be getting the hang of it, but I think I’m going to ask someone to just glance at what I’m doing, so I have a better idea of if I’m actually using it correctly. Soon I’ll be off to attend the seminar titled “Can I see a tree from space…and should I even care?” The title alone makes it sound like it’s going to be interesting.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Dukes
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 00:37:06

    Sooooo, CAN I see a tree from space? ….and should I care???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

