Day 7: The Good and The Bad

After this mornings meeting, I completed gathering the data for the rest of the galaxies from WISE. This ended up taking less time than I thought it would, which was fantastic. With that out of the way, I got to start learning how to use the programs I’ll be using this summer, DS9 and the Aperture Photometry Tool. It was a lot to take in, but Katie was really helpful, and explained things well when I had questions. Together, these two programs will allow me to figure out the total flux within each galaxy. However, I won’t get to jump right in, first I have to separate the “good” galaxies from the “bad”. Basically, a “good” galaxy stands mostly on its own in the image; meaning that there are no other galaxies or bright stars near or in front of it. From what I can tell, these are very difficult to find, so far many of the images I have perused through have been “bad”. There are a lot of stars and galaxies out there, so a galaxy nearly always has neighbors. Going back through the images again is something that is going to take a while, but I don’t mind it as much because now I get to have a good look at them, which is always fun.

Leave a Reply

